Enviro4me- Earth Advocates

Environmental Awareness Leading to Environmental Change

3 Ways to $ave Energy and $ave Money

10464248_628420103920687_8111086704488790345_nIf I told you, you could save time and money while also saving energy which in turn can save our planet would you do it?

I have been using these 3 basic tactics for years now and  not only have my electric costs decreased, but I also feel better knowing I am not wasting valuable resources.

These are easy changes you can make that require little to no extra effort on your part.

#1If it’s not in use, unplug it.

Even when electronics are off they still use energy, so unplug the items you don’t need to use all the time like your coffee maker, hair straightener, TV, gaming console, floor fan… you get the idea.

#2 Buy better bulbs

I can’t stress this one enough! I replaced some light bulbs with compact fluorescent ones. The results? I could leave the new light bulb on for almost 4 days straight and it would eat up the same energy the old bulb would in 1 day! Fluorescent bulbs also last longer, and I can honestly say I don’t remember the last time I had to change a burnt out bulb.

#3 Lights out when you’re out

This one is pretty self explanatory. If you’re not home then turn the lights off. There is no point in keeping your home lit when no one is even there. If you don’t like leaving your place completely dark when you’re away then invest in a fluorescent bulb and a small lamp- that should do the trick.

Tell Us What You Think

Information

This entry was posted on March 3, 2014 by in Uncategorized.
